Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

2008 Winterset Award finalists announced

Share |
2008 Winterset Award finalists announced

It was announced on Friday that Randall Maggs (Night Work: The Sawchuck Poems, Brick Books), Sara Tilley (Skin Room, Pedlar Press) and Marie Wadden (Where the Pavement Ends: Canada’s Aboriginal Recovery Movement and the Urgent Need for Reconciliation, Douglas & McIntyre) are finalists for the 2008 Winterset Award.
The Winterset Award honours the memory of Sandra Fraser Gwyn (pictured), St. John’s-born social historian, prize-winning author, and passionate promoter of Newfoundland and Labrador arts. Her husband, journalist and author Richard Gwyn established the award in 2000. It is named after the historic house on Winter Avenue in St. John’s where Sandra grew up.

The winner will be announced at Government House on Thursday, March 26th. The winner will receive a prize of $5,000 and the two finalists will each receive $1,000.
The Honourable John Crosbie, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador, is Honourary Patron of the Award. The award celebrates excellence in Newfoundland and Labrador writing.
A total of 35 works by Newfoundland and Labrador authors (either native-born or resident) were submitted by publishers from across the country. Books in any genre, fiction, non-fiction, poetry or drama published in 2008 were eligible for the award. The members of the jury who selected the finalists are Bill Rowe (author and public affairs commentator, St. John’s), Jane Urquhart (author, Toronto), and Kathleen Winter (author, Holyrood).

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad