Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Alice Munro Named Recipient of $10,000 Harbourfront Festival Prize

Share |

From our friends at the IFOA:

The International Festival of Authors announced at a luncheon earlier this week that Alice Munro is this year’s recipient of the $10,000 Harbourfront Festival Prize.

With many accolades to her name, including the Man Booker International Prize, the Commonwealth Writers Prize, the Scotiabank Giller Prize and several Governor General’s Literary Awards, Alice Munro was selected for this year’s annual Harbourfront Festival Prize based on the merits of her published work and her contributions to fostering the next generation of literary talent. Munro—who was selected by a jury comprised of Alison Jones (Publisher, Quill & Quire), Dianne Rinehart (Books and Visual Arts Editor, Toronto Star) and Geoffrey E. Taylor (Director, IFOA)—said of her win:

“I am thrilled to be named this year’s winner of the Harbourfront Festival Prize. To be recognized in this way by IFOA and to be counted amongst the Prize’s accomplished recipients is truly an honour.”

Established in 1984, previous Prize recipients include Dionne Brand, Wayson Choy, Austin Clarke, Christopher Dewdney, Helen Humphreys, Paul Quarrington, Peter Robinson, Seth, Jane Urquhart and Guy Vanderhaege. The prize will be presented on the closing night of the IFOA (November 2) during a special tribute to Munro at 8pm in the Fleck Dance Theatre. Tickets are $25 for the general public, $20 for IFOA supporters.

For more information about the Harbourfront Festival Prize and the IFOA, and to purchase tickets, call the Harbourfront Centre Box Office at 416-973-4000 or visit

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad