Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

BMO Winterset Award Finalists

Share |
BMO Winterset Award Finalists

Pedlar Press extends heartfelt congratulations to Craig Francis Power, whose exceptional debut novel, Blood Relatives, has been nominated for the 2010 BMO Winterset Award.

The Winterset Award celebrates excellence in Newfoundland and Labrador writing, and packs a $10,000 grand prize, as well as $2000 for each of the other finalists. According to a news release, books in any genre published in 2010 were eligible for the award. A total of 37 works by Newfoundland and Labrador authors (either native-born or resident) were submitted by publishers from across the country.

Craig's fellow nominees are Samuel Thomas Martin for This Ramshackle Tabernacle (Breakwater Books, St. John’s, NL) and Russell Wangersky for The Glass Harmonica (Thomas Allen Publishers, Toronto).

Craig Francis Power’s debut work Blood Relatives was also the winner of both the Percy Janes First Novel Award, and the Fresh Fish Award for unpublished fiction manuscripts.

The three finalists will read from their works and answer questions from the audience at a public reading and reception on Wednesday, March 23, 7 p.m., at The Rooms (in the Theatre), 9 Bonaventure Avenue in St. John’s.

The Winterset Award honours the memory of Sandra Fraser Gwyn, St. John’s-born social historian, prize-winning author, and passionate promoter of Newfoundland and Labrador arts. Her husband, journalist and author Richard Gwyn established the award in 2000. It is named after the historic house on Winter Avenue in St. John’s where Sandra grew up.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad