Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Ex Nihilo Longlisted for Dylan Thomas Prize

Share |

Ex Nihilo, written by acclaimed author Adebe D. A., has been longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize - the single largest literary award for published authors under 30. The book was chosen by a blind jury of famous Canadian poets bill bissett, George Elliott Clarke, and Alice Major to be published by Frontenac House in honour of Dektet 2010.

Ex Nihilo is a poetic text that considers how art can respond to the annihilation of particular identities struggling to exist in an impossibly post-racial world, framed against the possibility that art and identity are creations ex nihilo (out of nothing) whose immateriality allow us to engage in endless discursive creativity, as we travel and endlessly (re)create ourselves. The text has received critical acclaim from Quill & Quire, The National Post, and Poets & Writers magazine.

The annual prize, named in honour of the Welsh writer and poet Dylan Thomas, brings international prestige and a cash award of £30,000, making it the world's top cash prize for young writers. It is open to any published writers in the English language under the age of thirty. The prize is awarded bi-annually. The winner of the 2010 Dylan Thomas award will be announced at the final awards ceremony in Swansea, Wales on December 1st, 2010.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad