Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

First Nations, Métis and Inuit Writers to be Recognized by Unique Literary Award

Share |

On October 2nd, 2013, CODE, a Canadian charitable organization that has been advancing literacy and learning for over 50 years, will be hosting the inaugural gala announcing the winners of its Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature. The finalists of the Burt Award were selected by a jury of Canadian writers administered by the Canada Council for the Arts.

The award will be given annually to three English-language literary works for Young Adults by First Nations, Métis and Inuit authors. The first prize winner will receive $12,000, the second prize winner $8,000 and the third prize winner $5,000. The publishers of the winning titles will also receive a guaranteed purchase of a minimum of 2,500 copies that will be distributed to schools, libraries, and Friendship Centres that serve First Nations, Métis and Inuit youth across Canada.

The gala will be hosted by veteran broadcast-journalist Shelagh Rogers and author and video journalist Waubgeshig Rice. National Chief Shawn A-in-chut Atleo (Assembly of First Nations), Stephen Hendrie (Executive Director at Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami) and Jeffrey Cyr (Executive Director at the National Association of Friendship Centres), will be amongst the dignitaries who will be speaking at the event.

The finalists for the Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature are:

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad