Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Lane Anderson Award Shortlist Announced

Share |
The Lane Anderson Awards

From our friends at the Lane Anderson Award:

The six finalists competing for the 2011 Lane Anderson Award were announced today by Hollister Doll and Sharon Fitzhenry, directors of the Fitzhenry Family Foundation.

The annual Lane Anderson Award honours two jury-selected books, in the categories of adult and young reader, published in the field of science, and written by a Canadian. The winner in each category will receive a prize of $10,000. Winners will be announced on 27th September.

“The books selected for the shortlist demonstrate the importance of science in today’s world, and connect the topic to the general trade reader in a compelling way” said Doll and Fitzhenry.

The 2011 Lane Anderson Prize Adult Finalists:

Strange New Worlds by Ray Jayawardhana (Harper Collins)
Ray Jayawardhana offers an insider’s look at the cutting-edge science of today’s planet hunters, our prospects for discovering alien life, and the debates and controversies at the forefront of extra-solar planet research. Ray Jayawardhana is a professor at the University of Toronto and a world leader in the study of planetary origins and diversity, as well as an award-winning writer and speaker.

Cascadia’s Fault by Jerry Thompson (Harper Collins)
Written by a journalist who has been following this story for twenty-five years, Cascadia’s Fault tells the tale of this potentially devastating earthquake and the killer waves it will spawn. Jerry Thompson has worked for more than thirty years as a writer, director, and journalist, and as a network news correspondent and a documentary film producer for the CBC. His articles have appeared in Equinox, Reader’s Digest and Vancouver Magazine.

The Atlantic Coast by Harry Thurston (Greystone Books)
An authoritative and fascinating exploration of the islands, marshes, estuaries, and coastal forests where the rockbound continent meets the rich waters of the Northwest Atlantic.
Harry Thurston is the author of several collections of poetry and more than a dozen non-fiction books. He has also written for Audubon, Canadian Geographic and National Geographic.

The 2011 Lane Anderson Prize Young Reader Finalists:

What Does the Earth Sound Like by Eva Everything (ECW Press)
From the surprising science behind everyday life to the mysteries on the frontiers of scientific discovery, this quiz book covers many topics. Eva Everything is an award-winning science writer who writes and produces the MindBender Quiz for the Daily Planet.

Totally Human by Cynthia Pratt Nicolson (Kids Can Press)
The fascinating science behind our bodies and behaviours and how they link us to our ancient ancestors. Cynthia Pratt Nicolson is a teacher and an award-winning children’s author.

Nowhere Else On Earth by Caitlyn Vernon (Orca Book Publishers)
Environmental activist Caitlyn Vernon guides readers through a forest of information, sharing her personal stories, her knowledge, and her concerns. Caitlyn has a background in biology and environmental studies, and is currently a campaigner with Sierra Club BC.

The Lane Anderson designation honours the maiden names of Robert Fitzhenry’s mother, Margaret Lane, and his wife, Hilda Anderson Fitzhenry. The Fitzhenry Family Foundation is a privately directed Canadian foundation established in 1987 by Canadian publisher Robert I. Fitzhenry (1918-2008). The Lane Anderson Award is administered by Christopher Alam, a partner at the law firm of Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP.

For more information about the Lane Anderson Awards, please go to

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad