Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

RBC Taylor Prize Announces 2014 Longlist

Share |
RBC Taylor Prize Logo

Today, Noreen Taylor, chair of the Charles Taylor Foundation and founder of the newly renamed RBC Taylor Prize, announced the 2014 longlist. The RBC Taylor Prize is awarded annually to the author whose book best combines an excellent command of the English language, an elegance of style, quality of thought, and subtlety of perception. The Prize consists of $25,000 for the winning author and $2,000 for each of the runners up. This year, the Prize is introducing the RBC Taylor Prize Emerging Writer’s Award which provides $10,000 to an emerging author, chosen by the RBC Taylor Prize winner.

This year’s jurors, Coral Ann Howells, James Polk, and Andrew Westoll, reviewed and debated the merits of 124 submissions from 45 publishers. The following twelve longlisted books are undergoing further scrutiny as the jurors work toward finalizing the 2014 Shortlist, scheduled for release at a press conference on Wednesday, January 15th, 2014. The winner announcement will be made on March 10th at the Omni King Edward Hotel.

The 2014 RBC Taylor Prize Longlist:

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad