Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Tamara Faith Berger's Maidenhead Wins Believer Book Award

Share |
Tamara Faith Berger's Maidenhead Wins Believer Book Award

From our friends at Coach House Books:

Tamara Faith Berger's novel Maidenhead has been awarded The Believer Book Award for 2012. The award, selected annually by the magazine's editors, recognizes "the strongest and most underappreciated" novel or story collection of the year. Previous winners include Leaving the Atocha Station by Ben Lerner (2011) and The Road by Cormac McCarthy (2006).

Maidenhead, Berger's third novel, follows the sexual awakening of a teenage girl as she is drawn into unfamiliar worlds of sex, porn, race and class. The award announcement comes on the heels of the release of Berger's book Little Cat.

Maidenhead was published by Coach House Books in 2012 to numerous accolades and gained a reputation for itself as a dirtier, more cerebral alternative to E.L. James' bestselling Fifty Shades of Grey. The Spanish edition of the book was recently published by Punto de Lectura under the title Intacta.

Founded in 2003 by writer and publisher Dave Eggers, The Believer is a magazine of interviews, essays and reviews. The Believer Book Awards have been awarded annually since 2004.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad