Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Winners of the Inaugural Walrus Poetry Prize and Readers’ Choice Award Announced

Share |
The Walrus Poetry Prize

The winners of the inaugural Walrus Poetry Prize, which was established by the Walrus Foundation and the Hal Jackman Foundation to discover and recognize great original Canadian verse and involve the public in the process, have been announced:

Méira Cook receives the Walrus Poetry Prize, as well as $5,000, for her poem, “The Devil’s Advocate.” Bardia Sinaee’s “Barnacle Goose Ballad” wins the Readers’ Choice Award and $1,000 in prize money.

Both poems will be published in the December issue of The Walrus magazine, and all five nominees' poems are still available online.
Michael Lista, Walrus poetry editor, says that “The Walrus is proud to publish some of the best that Canadian poets have to offer, and as a general interest magazine we feel privileged to be able to reach such a large, diverse national audience and expose this work to our readers. The renaissance of Canadian poetry—a revolution the world is coming to acknowledge—is unfolding in the pages of The Walrus.”

For more information, or to check out the poems, head over to the Poetry Prize page.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad