Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Writers' Trust Announces the Year's Best Political Books

Share |
Writers' Trust of Canada logo

The Writers’ Trust of Canada, a charitable organization that celebrates Canadian authors, has announced the finalists for the prestigious Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing. The prize is given to the book that, in addition to enhancing the reader’s understanding of the issue, has the most potential to influence Canadian political life, according to the jury.

The finalists vying for the $25,000 award are:

Ron Graham for The Last Act: Pierre Trudeau, the Gang of Eight, and the Fight for Canada (Allen Lane Canada)

Richard Gwyn for Nation Maker: Sir John A. Macdonald: His Life, Our Times; Volume Two: 1867–1891 (Random House Canada)

Max and Monique Nemni (authors) and George Tombs (translator) for Trudeau Transformed: The Shaping of a Statesman, 1944–1965 (McClelland & Stewart)

Andrew Nikiforuk for Empire of the Beetle: How Human Folly and a Tiny Bug Are Killing North America’s Great Forests (Greystone Books/David Suzuki Foundation)

Jacques Poitras for Imaginary Line: Life on an Unfinished Border (Goose Lane Editions)

The jury that will determine the winner of the award is comprised of journalist David Akin, historian Charlotte Gray and political scientist Janice Gross Stein

The winner of the 12th Annual Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing will be named in Ottawa on April 25, 2012, at the Politics and the Pen Gala.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad