Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Writers' Trust Awards

Share |
Writers' Trust Awards

Last night, The Writers' Trust of Canada announced winners of $127,000 in prizes for literature in the fiction, non-fiction, and short fiction categories. The event, at the Isabel Bader Theatre in Toronto, is one of the richest awards nights for literature in Canada and was hosted this year by Jian Ghomeshi.

Vancouver writer Annabel Lyon won the $25,000 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize for The Golden Mean, a novel about Aristotle and his one-time pupil Alexander the Great.

Brian Brett, a writer from Salt Spring Island, won the $25,000 Writers’ Trust Non-Fiction Prize for Trauma Farm: A Rebel History of Rural Life, an account of the author’s small island farm and an impassioned plea for maintaining a connection to the hands-on lessons of rural living. There were huge cheers when Brett's name was announced by Katherine Ashenberg and once onstage, the author remarked, "This just ruins my outsider credentials...and almost brings me back from broke."

Three more authors received awards for their excellence in literature. Novelist David Bergen (Winnipeg) won the Writers' Trust Notable Author Award. Children’s writer Marthe Jocelyn (Stratford, Ontario) won the Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature, thanking the Writers' Trust Executive Director Don Oravec for persisting with his congratulatory phonecalls "when I so ungraciously assumed it was a prank call." Emerging writer Yasuko Thanh (Victoria) won the Writers Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize for her story, "Floating like the Dead," published in the Vancouver Review.

For full details, please visit

Photo of Marthe Jocelyn; photo credit is Tom Slaughter.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad