Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Writers' Trust Journey and Fiction Prize Shortlists Announced

Share |
Carnival by Rawi Hage

This morning, the Writers’ Trust of Canada announced the finalists for two of its fiction prizes at Ben McNally Books.

The finalists for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize were chosen by a jury (Lynn Coady, Esi Edugyan and Drew Hayden Taylor) who considered 116 books from 45 publishers. Drew Hayden Taylor and Jan Innes made the announcement:

· TIM BOWLING, The Tinsmith(Brindle & Glass Publishing)

· TAMAS DOBOZY, Siege 13 (Thomas Allen Publishers)

· RAWI HAGE, Carnival (House of Anansi Press)

· ALIX OHLIN, Inside (House of Anansi Press)

· LINDA SPALDING, The Purchase (McClelland & Stewart)

The finalists for the Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize were chosen by a jury (Michael Christie, Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer and Kathleen Winter) who read 82 stories from 28 journals. Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer made the announcement:

· KEVIN HARDCASTLE, “To Have to Wait” (The Malahat Review)

· ANDREW HOOD, “Manning”(PRISM international)

· ALEX PUGSLEY, “Crisis on Earth-X” (The Dalhousie Review)

Both prizes will be presented on November 7 at the 12th annual Writers’ Trust Awards event in Toronto’s Isabel Bader Theatre. Learn more at The Writers' Trust website.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad